Committee details


Purpose of committee

The Council is composed of 42 councillors elected every four years. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. The overriding duty of councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.


Councillors have to agree to follow a code of conduct to ensure appropriate standards in the way they undertake their duties.


All councillors meet together as the Council. Meetings of the Council are normally open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council elects the Leader of the Council (who appoints the other members of the decision-making Executive); the Overview and Scrutiny Commission (responsible for holding the Executive publicly accountable, and for developing policies) and the four regulatory committees (which make decisions, non-executive functions).



Contact information

Support officer: Kirsty Hunt. 01344 353108

Postal address:
Democratic Services
Time Square
Market Street
RG12 1JD