4. THE EXECUTIVE

4.1 **Role**

The role and functions of the Executive are set out in Part 2 of this Constitution.

4.2 Form and Composition

The Executive will consist of the Executive Leader together with at least two but not more than nine Councillors appointed to the Executive by the Executive Leader. The Leader may appoint Councillors to the Executive either at the Annual Meeting of the Council or, on giving written notice of appointment to the proper officer, at any time thereafter. Appointment of a Councillor to the Executive after the Annual Meeting of the Council will take effect immediately on receipt of the notice by the proper officer and shall be reported to the next meeting of the Council. If both the Leader and the Deputy Leader are unavailable to act the Executive shall act in the Leader's place or shall arrange for a Councillor appointment to the executive to act in the Leader's place.

4.3 Leader

The Leader will be a Councillor elected to the position of Leader by the Council at the first annual meeting of the Council after ordinary elections. The Leader will hold office until:

- (a) he or she resigns from the Office; or
- (b) he or she is suspended from being a Councillor under Part III of the Local Government Act 2000 (although he or she may resume office at the end of the period of suspension); or
- (c) he or she is no longer a Councillor; or
- (d) the commencement of the first Annual Meeting of the Council after the next ordinary elections to the Council except that the Council may remove the Leader from office at an earlier date by resolution of the Council. In the event of the Council resolving to remove the Leader it shall (at same meeting) appointing another Councillor to be Leader.

4.4 Deputy Leader

The Deputy Leader shall be a Councillor appointed by the Leader from those councillors who have been appointed to serve as Executive Members. The Deputy leader shall hold such office during the term of office of the Leader or until he/she is removed from that office by the Leader (in which case the Leader shall appoint another Councillor appointed to the Executive to serve as Deputy Leader). The Deputy Leader shall act in place of the Leader should the Leader be absent or unable to act.

4.5 Other Executive Members

Other Executive Members shall hold office until:

(a) they resign from office;

- (b) they are suspended from being Councillors under Part III of the Local Government Act 2000 (although they may resume office at the end of the period of suspension);
- (c) they are no longer Councillors; or
- (d) until the commencement of the next Annual Meeting of the Council or until they are removed from office by the Leader who must give written notice of removal to the proper officer. Removal will take effect immediately on receipt of the notice by the proper officer.

4.6 **Proceedings of the Executive**

Proceedings of the Executive shall take place in accordance with the Executive Procedure Rules, as set out in Part 4 of this Constitution.

4.7 Executive Support Members

- 4.7.1 The Council may appoint Executive Support Members with the following duties:
 - (i) to assist, support and advise the relevant Executive Member in the exercise of his or her responsibilities,
 - (ii) to carry out particular tasks and projects as agreed with the Executive Member from time to time;
 - (ii) to attend public and private meetings of the Executive as an observer and in the absence of the Executive Member to propose motions and speak (but not to vote);
 - (iv) in the absence of the Executive Member, to speak at meetings of the Council on matters relating to the allocated portfolio area.
- 4.7.2 Executive Support Members may serve on the Overview and Scrutiny Commission, Scrutiny Panels and Working Groups provided that they must withdraw from any discussion of matters within the portfolio area in which they act as Executive Support Member. It would, therefore, be inappropriate for Executive Support Members to act as Chairman or Vice-Chairman of a Scrutiny Panel.
- 4.7.3 Executive Support Members shall not be appointed to the role of Chairman or Vice-Chairman of the Licensing and Safety Committee or the Planning Committee.